Smoothies!

I’ve learned in the past few months of reading through countless fitness sites that a very important part of training and getting fit is using protein powder. My first thought was, “absolutely not!” I don’t know about you, but when I think protein powder, I think of big, smelly, sweaty beefcakes at the gym or those grossly huge body building women. As I read more and more about protein powder, however, I learned that it really isn’t what makes those women so big – that’s the work of other substances. Protein actually just aids in fat loss and building the muscle you want. And it’s not just powder you have to use, there are numerous other options for you to choose from, it just depends on what is most convenient for you. I love making healthy smoothies, so I think the powder is the best option for me.

There are so many smoothie recipe sites out there. You don’t even need to use a recipe, just throw whatever fruits you want into a blender; the chances of it tasting terrible is pretty slim. If, however, you’d prefer to use a recipe, check out The Green Monster Movement (I have the link in my blogroll and the bottom of the page). She has plenty of recipes to choose from, I usually stick with the most basic one because the ingredients are easiest to get a hold of.

I want to share a recipe I just found yesterday, maybe get some opinions on it. I found it on Pinterest and completely forgot to write down the site it was linked to, but it said this smoothie in particular helps darken skin color. It said something about it being the healthy alternative to tanning, and will make your skin healthier looking. Now, I’m not convinced it’s going to make me tan. As much as I’d like to believe it, I don’t think it’s possible. I’m just so pale, tanning beds don’t get me tan, the sun just fries me, I’m giving anything a shot that might save me the time it takes to put on sunless tanning lotion. Anyway, here’s the recipe:

1/2 cup Cantalope cubes

1/2 cup Papaya

Juice of 1 orange

1/2 cup Carrot juice or Water

1 small knob of Fresh ginger

I’ll try this out some time this week and let you know if I’m as dark (or orange) as Snooki. Don’t get your hopes up though…I’m not! 🙂

Leave a Reply

