Will Power and Christmas Cookies

After work yesterday, I had an appointment to get my hair trimmed and then was supposed to go get my nails done with Jamie. On my way to the hair salon I realized, HOLY CRAP, I’m STARVING! Not having that little bit of protein with lunch really made a difference (remember, I forgot the peanut butter for my sandwich). So once I left my appointment, I called Jamie to meet up, frantically trying to figure out what I was going to eat because, really, the only option was stopping at a fast food place. After a couple unanswered calls to Jamie, I decided I would just start driving home instead of going straight to the nail place. I was about 15 minutes from home when she finally called me back and said she was going to meet our friends newborn baby. Honestly, as much as I wanted to get my nails done, I was really relieved I didn’t have to eat crap.

When I got home, I grabbed numerous ingredients out of the pantry and my measuring cups. I measured every ingredient to the serving size and started cooking. The end result?

Who would have thought a serving size, just 3/4 of a cup, of pasta would be so much?? It doesn’t look like much when it’s uncooked so I was a little worried I would still feel hungry afterwards, but it really filled me up! Ingredients:

3/4 cup Great Value whole wheat penne pasta

1/2 cup Ragu meat flavored pasta sauce

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

And I was completely surprised when measuring out the spinach that the serving size is FOUR AND A HALF CUPS. I don’t know who would actually eat that much, but it was nice to know that if I wasn’t filled up from what was on my plate, I could still have a little more spinach to help me out. I didn’t measure the spinach since I could have a lot of it, but I’d guess it was maybe a cup. 2 tablespoons of Italian dressing and it was all finished. I know you’re supposed to eat slow so you know when you’re full, but this was so good and I was just that hungry that I’m pretty sure I ate it all in about 5 minutes. This will definitely be dinner for me at least once a week. I know pasta isn’t the best thing I could eat, but it’s not terrible either.

Once my dinner settled in my stomach, I started my workout. It was the first day with a new plan and it really got my heart rate up there. I took most of the exercises from Jennifer Rankin’s routine on BodyBuilding.com. Most of the routine was aimed towards abs, which, I hate doing crunches because I really don’t feel like they work that well (maybe because I’m not doing them correctly?), but I did them anyway and actually feel a little sore today. Not too much, but a slight tightness is definitely there. I haven’t started cardio (Couch to 5k), but plan to very soon.

Overall, I’m very pleased with how yesterday went! Today, however, my supervisor is here and she brought us a big box of homemade Christmas cookies. It’s REALLY hard not to try one of each (there are probably 5 or 6 different kinds), but I’m going to be good and only take some home for Matt. Wish me luck with that! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

