Stubborn.

I will always be the first to admit that I am way too stubborn. If I don’t like the way something is being done or if I’m told to do something that I don’t like, I turn into the biggest brat. I think it has a lot to do with being a Capricorn, or at least that’s what I’m going to blame it on!

When I started at my current job, a cardiology office, I was really surprised when I read the handbook and it had no mention of tattoos, piercings, or hair color. Perfect! Not that anything I have really shows when I have normal office job clothes on, just the two little tattoos on my feet and my nose stud. A few weeks ago, however, this all changed completely, and I now have to cover everything.

The higher-ups decided everything has to be covered, no matter where you work in the office. My desk is in a back room that I share with 3 other women, and none of us come in any contact with patients. I barely see anyone else throughout the day. So, being the stubborn girl I am, I’m complying with the new policy, but in a way that makes it look as ridiculous as the new rule is. I wore a skirt today, so I had to cover the two tattoos on my feet, and one I have on my leg, here’s how:

My tan looks completely uneven, but I swear it’s not! Anyway, I used post-it notes and some scotch tape. It seems like such a waste to use band aids, what if I use my last one on covering a tattoo and then I cut myself and need a band-aid for it! Then what do I do??? Okay, by now you’re probably thinking I’m nuts, and I probably am, but I’m really disappointed about the new rules. I thought people were becoming more accepting of things like this, I mean, it’s 2012! But I guess I was wrong and I just have to learn to deal with this kind of thing. I just hope one day I find a job I really like and that I can express myself in whatever way I want and not be criticized for it.

3 thoughts on “Stubborn.

  1. My work at one point banned any second set of ear piercings (so no more than one stud in each ear), as if it would make the blindest bit of difference! Silly times! Great read!

    • That’s crazy! I’ll be curious to see what happens when they find out my ears are gauged, not just big black studs HA! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      • It was madness! All the workers were beaten into clones! No worries,i like your style of writing!

Leave a Reply

