One Mile.

Back in high school I started running cross country and track my junior year just because I had a couple friends who were doing it. I had never given a thought to running before that and really didn’t know what I was getting myself into. I quickly learned to love it and was pretty good for being a beginner! In track, I ran the mile, 800, and 4×8. My best time for the mile was 6:08 (don’t ask me how or why I remember this), not the fastest, but decent for our team.

Yesterday, Jenn couldn’t run again so I was trying to decide where I wanted to go. I headed to Matt’s house because I was going to settle for the same route I always go, but his sister was there and suggested I do the mile run she measured out back when she was training to be a cop. I liked that idea because then I could time myself and see if I’m anywhere near what I ran in high school. So, how did I do? I did it in 7:38, a minute and a half slower than I used to. I’d like to blame it on the fact that the road isn’t flat like a track is, but I probably am just that much slower. Now I feel like I have a good goal to work towards though, and I hope to one day beat my old time, even if it’s only for my own personal enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

